30th Annual AOSA Optometry Pupil Bowl Powered by Essilor Attracts Fierce Competitors Across the Nation


(PRESS RELEASE) DALLAS, TX – The American Optometric Student Association (AOSA) Optometry Student Bowl powered by Essilor, long viewed as the marquee during the Optometry’s Meeting, celebrated its 30th annual competition on June 25, 2021. Student representatives from 23 schools and colleges for optometry battled for victory in important prizes and coveted show-off rights by answering challenging questions about optometry in competition rounds.

Tyler Lesko of the Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University took home the first prize, $ 1,000, Ray-Ban Authentic Essilor Special Edition glasses and sunglasses from EssilorLuxottica, diagnostic lenses from Volk Optical, a MIO, and Kinexis software comprised by Keeler. In addition – announced live from the stage by EssilorLuxottica as a surprise for all attendees – Tyler Lesko’s win also earned free Ray-Ban Authentic Essilor Special Edition glasses for all students of the Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University attending the OSB. visited.

“It is always an honor to work with AOSA and to sponsor this event since it was founded 30 years ago. The Optometry Student Bowl is one of the most fun and exciting ways to support students on their way to optometry, ”said Rick Gadd, President of Essilor North America. “The students certainly had a challenging school year, but just as the optometric industry weathered the pandemic, their persistence is admirable as they become part of the future of optometry.”

The Student Bowl, which is now a mainstay and a highlight of the Optometry Meeting, was originally launched by Varilux, the world’s leading progressive lens brand1, and called the Varilux Student Bowl during the first 25 years of the competition. Thirty years ago, the Student Bowl was created to highlight star optometry students who would shape the industry as top researchers, opinion leaders, and leading representatives of state associations – just as Varilux shaped optometry by allowing optometrists to treat presbyopic patients to theirs Best to give sight with sharp vision at any distance.

For the first time, the event was a hybrid live and virtual affair that drew a crowd of enthusiastic students and alumni cheering on their school representative. In-person attendees wore giant optomechanical clippings and curved noise makers, while virtual attendees used the livestream’s comment section to post hundreds of comments cheering on their school representative. The event was hosted by Essilor at Mile High Station in Denver, Colorado and streamed live on Essilor’s YouTube channel.

While Tyler Lesko won the grand prize, Stephanie Solomon of the University of Pikeville – Kentucky College of Optometry won second place for $ 750. Third place went to Rebecca Phung of the Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University, who received $ 500. EssilorLuxottica awarded each of the 23 participants in this year’s competition a complete Ray-Ban Authentic Essilor Special Edition glasses for their participation. As is the Optometry Student Bowl tradition, each participant also received a Volk® Pan Retinal® 2.2 blue ring lens, generously donated by Volk Optical. Keeler was once again a partner of the event and gave the top three winners an MIO in addition to a one-year Kinexis Premium Imaging subscription.


This year’s renowned jury included:

  • Chief judge – Dr. Linda Casser, professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University; Author, Educator, Clinician, and Optician of 1997 for the American Optometric Association (AOA).
  • Dr. Diane Adamczyk, author, lecturer and professor at the State University of New York College of Optometry and PCO Alumna of the Year 2016.
  • Dr. James DeFleming, vice president of the American Optometric Association, graduate of Pacific University College of Optometry, past president of the Optometric Physicians of Washington, and was vision director of the Medical Board of the Washington State University Athletic Department.
  • Dr. Sue Oleszewski is a graduate of the Pennsylvania College of Optometry and Professor Emerita Emerita of Salus University, clinical instructor and administrator.

Spirit award

  • The Spirit Award was presented to the Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry (NSUOCO) for the creative support of each participant during the event. A coveted award – winning the Spirit Award gives NSUOCO a prominent contribution in the expected OSB hype video of the next year that will be played during the opening of the bowl.

For more information and to see some of the excitement at this year’s AOSA Optometry Student Bowl powered by Essilor, visit www.ecpu.com/optometry or www.facebook.com/essilorPro.